School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Outstanding Teacher Awards

The School of Natural Sciences & Mathematics (NS&M) places great importance on the work of talented and committed teachers. Each year, students are asked for help identifying faculty and teaching assistants worthy of recognition for the extraordinary efforts they make to provide our students a top quality education in NS&M.

This year, the school will make five awards in the following categories:

  • Tenured professors
  • Untenured professors
  • Senior lecturers
  • Graduate teaching assistants
  • Undergraduate teaching assistants

Each faculty award is a certificate, and each teaching assistant award is a certificate plus a check. The recipients' names will be inscribed on a plaque in the dean's office. ? Please nominate one or more faculty members and one or more teaching assistants who have taught you in a natural sciences & math class during your time at UT Dallas and made a significant positive impact on your education.

Note that you are not restricted to nominating instructors or TAs who are teaching you in the current semester. You may nominate faculty and TAs from previous semesters. You may make nominations in any or all of the categories. You may nominate one or more individuals.

Bruce Novak, PhD
Dean of Natural Sciences and Mathematics


Nominate now

Past Recipients:


Teaching Assistants

John Sibert
Tenured Professor, Spring 2019

Dineli Ranathunga, Chemistry
Graduate TA, Spring 2019
Bing Lv
Tenure-track Professor, Spring 2019
Alfonso Flores, Biochemistry TA
Undergraduate TA, Spring 2019
Julie Sutton
Lecturer Award, Spring 2019
Mustapha Ishak-Boushaki, Physics
Tenured Professor, Spring 2018
Jordan Newman, Geosciences
Graduate TA, Spring 2018
Zachary Campbell, Biological Sciences
Tenure-Track Professor, Spring 2018
Gino Occhialini, Chemistry
Undergraduate TA, Spring 2018
Stephanie Taylor, Sci/Math Ed
Lecturer Award, Spring 2018
Mihaela Stefan
Faculty, Spring 2017
Alishah "Sunny Vidhani
Undergraduate, Spring 2017
Kelli Palmer
Tenure Track, Spring 2017
Warren Lieu
Graduate TA, Spring 2017
Amandeep Sra
Senior Lecturer, Spring 2017
Gregg Dieckman
Faculty, Fall 2016
Alishah "Sunny" Vidhani
Undergraduate, Fall 2016
Uma Srikanth
Senior Lecturer, Fall 2016
Nimmy Mammoottil
Graduate TA, Fall 2016
Mohammad Akbar
Tenure Track, Fall 2016
Jeremiah Gassensmith
Chemistry and Biochemistry, 2015
Irina Berezovik
Mathematical Sciences, 2015
Paul Pantano
Chemistry, 2014
Dorian Turner
Molecular & Cell Biology, 2014
Mohammad Akbar
Mathematics, 2013
Rodrigo D. Vinluan III
Chemistry, 2013
Claudia Taenzler
Chemistry, 2012
Hien Nguyen
Chemistry, 2012
Gregg R. Dieckmann
Chemistry, 2011
Kirk Huynh
Chemistry, 2012
George A. McMechan
Geosciences, 2010
Brian Streit
Mathematics, 2010
Mihaela Stefan
Chemistry, 2009
William H. Wettingfeld
Mathematics, 2009
Mieczyslaw K. Dabkowski
Mathematics, 2009
Rebekah A. Sessoms
Biology, 2009
Michael C. Biewer
Chemistry, 2008
Brady C. McCary
Mathematics, 2008
Mustapha Ishak-Boushaki
Physics, 2007
Nam Lam
Mathematics, 2007
Michael C. Biewer
Chemistry, 2006
Sumihiro Suzuki
Mathematics, 2006
Mary Urquhart
Science Education, 2005
Seyed Mohsen Kariminia
Geosciences, 2005
John Sibert
Chemistry, 2004

Nadia Khanam
Chemistry, 2004
William S. "Will" Burgett
Physics, 2003
Allison K "Allie" Thurmond
Geosciences, 2003
John Burr
Biology, 2002
Claudia Schmegner
Mathematics, 2002
Paul Pantano
Chemistry, 2001
David B. Williamson
Geosciences, 2000
Gregory D. Earle
Physics, 2000
Mara L. Miller
Biology, 2001
Frank R. "Ray" Allum
Mathematics, 1999
Elizabeth M. "Beth" Champ
Chemistry, 1999
  • Updated: June 17, 2019